Android Headunit with CAN support (conectivity with RD)

Hello everyone.
I am new to Realdash, and i am using it with classic OBD2 bl/wifi adapter.
I saw there was similar topic here, but very old (from 2021). Something probably changed since that.
I have android unit in my car, that reads vechicle data via CAN, I was wondering if that Unit can be connected somehow with RD, without any adapter.

I have the file with MCU (mcu.bin) as seller sent me some updates, but after it, I lost some data for fuel level, hadbrake and lights on native gauge app screen.
I supose it can be conected to Realdash via socketCan, but nothing happened whe I tried once.

Since I am new user, site dont allow me to post more than one pic, but I can provide any additional photo or data if needed.
Car is Audi A6 2008 and unit pic of system info is here:

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

I am also interested in this, and I’m also wanting to see if data is sent out from these types of headunits that could possible be using inside RealDash. Namely if data is sent out from Android Auto/CarPlay where I could have the currently playing song or navigation information display on the dashboard.

This is not currently possible due to the closed nature of the CAN implmentaion of the headunits. You will need to tap into the canbus and use an adpater to get the info into Realdash.

1 Like

That would essentially be using a USB type can adapter plugged into the radio?

Would you know if any of the apps that add CarPlay or Android Auto might send information out on CAN?

Yes, several adapters are supported and work well.

No, it’s not going to work like that. Navigation within Realdash you can currently only use the map service that is integrated.
Currently playing works via android notification system and works well for some music players, not sure it’s passed from Car Play or not, but you can try.

1 Like