Basic gauge editing for dummies

I am new to RealDash and have only limited experience editing gauges in Tuner Studio. Consequently I’m finding the learning curve for how to do even basic editing of the gauges quite steep. The 3 tutorials on the RealDash web site are good, but they are quite specific and lack some basic instructions and principals. However, I have made some progress and would like to share what I’ve learned in order to help others if I can.

I am using RealDash with Speeduino and have the Data Engineer’s Dream dash board. It does almost everything I want out of the box, but it has a boost gauge that I wanted to change to a Manifold Absolute Pressure gauge, and a MAF gauge that I wanted to change to Throttle Position Percent gauge.

The first thing I had to figure out is how the gauges are constructed. I’ll use the Boost gauge as an example as everything else seems to be similar.

To edit a gauge, first tap the upper center of the screen to bring down a menu bar. In the upper right corner tap on “Edit”. This will bring a list of gauges out onto the left side of the screen. I was looking for anything related to the Boost gauge and found 4 items. Boost arc gauge, Boost text, Boost Value and Boost unit. Instead of displaying Boost, I wanted the gauge to display MAP, so I had to change the names. I don’t think it matters what particular order this is done in, but this is how I did it:

Tap top center of screen → Tap Edit → select Boost arc gauge ->Tap the bottom centre of the screen to bring up another menu bar → Tap Context Menu → Tap Edit → Tap gauge Name → Change Boost arc gauge to MAP arc gauge → tap Done → tap the check mark → tap Done in the upper right corner → Save the dash by tapping the check mark in the dialog box.