Beginner questions

Hello, I am new to Realdash and have some ‘noob’ questions; sorry if they seem somewhat stupid or are already explained elsewhere.

First of all, I’ve been reading quite a lot and am impressed with what Realdash can do, thanks for all the coding work!

I recently somewhat resurrected a 1998 VW Passat Variant, 1900 TDI. Problems with a driveshaft, with the clutch, and some other, less important issues with electric windows and door locks were fixed/replaced (I didn’t do all work myself, but as much as I could).

The dash isn’t in great shape; the needles for rpm and fuel level move but are in completely the wrong spot, and the display doesn’t work. I was told replacing it requires you to somehow enter a pin code, to ‘learn’ it to the ECU, but I wouldn’t know how to and I expect the OEM part to be quite expensive anyway. As the regulatory ‘noose’ tightens for old cars (next year I won’t be allowed to drive it in the whole south part of Belgium, for example, unless I pay a daily fee of €30 or sth like that), the plan for now is to keep everyting on a tight budget.
Also, working on the dash is a bit of a pain.

Enter Realdash. I have a cheapo bluetooth OBD2 connector (Vgate Scan I believe, a common semi-transparent blue one) which I used to read error codes on my previous car, and the Android app shows things like speed and rpm correctly. I haven’t been able to get fuel level though, I tried changing the source input for fuel level to “ECU Specific->OBD2: Fuel Level” as explained elsewhere on this forum, but no result yet. Maybe it has to do with how I add a custom dial, dunno (is there a ‘theme’ that has fuel level reporting? might be a good way to test).

How can I check which values my car outputs via obd2? Can I do this using Realdash, or is another piece of software needed? In that case, command line stuff isn’t an issue.
Great to see that there’s a linux version available, by the way!