Calculating Gear Using Rev/Speed Ratio

Hi All

I’m a driving instructor using a 2019 Vauxhall Corsa 1.4 petrol. I want a way to display the currently selected gear to help pupils. I’ve got myself an OBD2 reader and have just installed RealDash. I’ll set it up tomorrow.

QUESTION:

As a novice user I assumed there would be a way to enter the ratios like this:

Gear 1: 4mph @ 800 revs
Gear 2: 7mph @ 800 revs
Etc

From the posts I’ve read it seems that lots of users struggle setting the gear ratios. Wouldn’t having this input option too be easier?

Cheers

Nick

Yes, its true. We get a lot of questions to help with gear ratios and many times that info is somewhat difficult to find.

Also, front wheel drive vehicles use the final gear differently so sometimes you need to multiply the gear ratio with final ratio, sometimes divide.

I think we will make a new option for next release where you can set the gears by driving the vehicle.

That would be awesome. So now I guess I better get my calculator out and try to figure it out. :rofl:

Before I sit down tonight after work and try to figure out the ratios, is there a simple maths trick to work out the ratios based off speed and RPM (assuming FDR set to 1)?

This can be a nice math exercise :slight_smile:

Ratio of each gear is:

Tire RPM / Engine RPM.

To calculate Tire RPM, you first need the tire circumference. Lets say that you have 245/40x18 tire.

Circumference of the tire in meters is calculated as:
(tireWidth * tireAspect / 100 + wheelDiameter * 25.4 * 0.5) * 2 * PI / 1000;

So 245/40x18 tire circumference would be:
(245 * 40 / 100 + 18 * 25.4 * 0.5) * 2 * PI / 1000 = 2.05 meters

Now we have the circumference, we can calculate the tire RPM based on circumference and speed.

Speed in meters per minute is:
V (in km/h) * 1000 (meters in a km) / 60 (minutes in an hour)

So Tire RPM is:
TireRPM = CurrentSpeedKPH * 1000 / (60 * TireCircumference);

The current gear ratio is then simply Engine RPM / TireRPM