Saving a Trigger Ride Session

Good time.

A long time ago you explained to me that in order for the odometer data and other information about the current trip to be recorded in ROM, you must exit the application. I have been doing this for several years.
But it would be much more convenient to program the trigger for a specific condition, so that, upon the occurrence, the data is written to memory.
Is it possible from the trigger to record the current trip data, in particular the odometer and tripmeter, without exiting RealDash?

You should always shutdown the system gracefully. If you just pull the plug, at some point your operating system will get corrupted for sure. Its not only RealDash, but any process in your OS; if you pull the plug while file write operation is in progress the files can get corrupted. Its just matter of time. That is the reason why you need to shutdown RealDash properly to avoid such situations.

Yes. but if I need to go again in 5 minutes, I will not turn off the system completely. That is why periodic saves are required, as in a real dashboard.
You’ve probably studied the order of forming the power supply of the factory panels.
The session is saved if the ignition is turned off!

My request is caused by a problem on which it is problematic to return to the application if it has been completed. I need to start RealDash again by rebooting the USB SERIAL connection, which is not always practical!
Maybe we can somehow still record the odometer at least from turning off the ignition, as in the standard panels. After all, turning off the ignition always means the end of the trip.

No, ‘real dashboards’ don’t do periodic saves. Instead their variables are stored in EEPROM style resident memory. Unfortunately we do not have that sort of memory available on devices where RealDash typically runs.