Button show "on" state

How do you make a button show a different state when “on”?
I’ve tried creating a button, mapping it to some inputs, creating an actions that toggle, hold values, etc when the button is “pressed” and then setting some different colors for “critical” state that represent “on”, or 1.
I’m just not getting it.
Any pointers?
And yes, I’m a total noob to realdash. Bought the premium version, in case that was the issue. No change.
Coming from Torque, where I’ve got some buttons that turn on relays in my Arduino.
Trying out some proof-of-concept stuff before I re-design my entire system to work with realdash to see if what I envision is doable.
Thanks!

First check these tutorial videos if they help:
http://realdash.net/manuals.php

If you don’t find what you are looking for there, then please describe what you are trying to achieve in detail.

Nothing in the docs shows how to work with buttons.
I would like the button to toggle a value between 1 and 0 (turn a relay on and off) and show the current state of that input.
I can get it to change states by hooking up it’s input to the CEL so that part is working right. The part that’s not must be something in the action or input. Currently hooked up to one of the dummy input values that are available.
Pretending that dummy register is hooked to a relay, would like to show the current state that I’m setting it to. On/Off.
Running in simulation mode if that matters.

If you want the text on button to change, its little bit more involved, but I try to go thru the steps. Here I use ‘Dummy 1’ as example input, replace with your actual input.

• Create new dashboard and add Button gauge
  • Select button and go to ‘Input & Values’
  • Select data source: Select Other: Dummy 01
  • Set range max to 1.0
  • Set warning above 0.5
  • Set critical above 0.8
  • Tap ‘Done’ to go back to dashboard editing

Now your button is linked to Dummy 01 and you can adjust what happens to it visually.