How do you create a custom dash design

I have older classic vehicle that I want to design gauges for the dash layout.
The gauges will be based off these style gauges.

Looking for guidance in where to start and what to do.
I am not a graphic artist but I live with someone who is and is excited about designing a dash layout for me.

I assume some type of graphic program is required saw reference to GIMP.
What formats to do we need to save the graphic image in so they can be used by RealDash. Gauge Faces and Needles with animation.

How do we go about doing this project?

For graphics formats, RealDash supports most common ones. We recommend using PNG for transparent images, and JPG for photograph style images. For pre-defined animations you can use MP4 videos or animated GIFs.

To animate gauges based on data triggers, see these instructions:
RealDash-extras/Dashboard-animation-examples at master · janimm/RealDash-extras · GitHub

1 Like

Hmm, but say your using Windows machine to do most the work b4 exporting to a Pi. How do you turn the png into an rd file?
I really like this realdash software but any write ups on how to’s seems very limited for basic things like a custom graphic to then line up with a custom xml.
Cheers

Its not that bad when you just start experimenting with it. To import and use a PNG file:

• Create new dashboard
  • Add Image Gauge
  • Go to Look’n Feel->Images->Background Image
  • Tap the big plus-sign (+)
  • Select your PNG file
  • Tap Done until back on dash. Then save.

And then you have to write an XML file to be able to set, for example, the number of setpoints on the gauge? So say you want the speedo to go in 20kmph increments from 10kmph to 150kmph. Hence there would be 8 points at which a number would appear on the gauge that would go 10-30-50-70-90-110-130-150.
Or, is there a speedo already available where you can change the number of setpoints and not just the first and last setpoint speeds?