Supported ODB2 Devices

Hi RealDash,

I have tried several ODB2 bluetooth devices like ELM327, BlueDriver, Vgate… and they have different results like connection or latency issue. I have read the ELM support may vary but I am wondering if you have some recommended devices for us which is good fit to RealDash? Why i choose ODB2 is just simply plug & play without difficulties :slight_smile:

1 Like

In development we use almost exclusively the adapters from OBDLink

obdlink.com

They are very high quality and reliable adapters. I have been using the same MX Bluetooth adapter on my car for 3 years without ever taking it out from the car. And this includes very cold Finnish climate.

In contrast, the cheap clone adapters usually last about 3 months and then start acting up. Once I bought a plastic bag full of $4 clone adapters, 4/10 of them worked at all and rest of them failed after a few months.

If you are serious about this, get a high quality adapter.

1 Like

Thanks for that, i just bought one from Amazon and can’t wait to try that with RealDash :wink:

Hi,

I just got the OBDLink MX+ and tried the OBDLink App is work but Realdash is not connecting the OBDLink MX+.

Here is my steps:

1. Reinstall Realdash
  2. Plug the OBDLink MX+ to Vehicle
  3. Start Engine
  4. Pair iPhone to OBDLink MX+ via Bluetooth
  5. Open Realdash
  6. Follow instruction from https://www.realdash.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=3

I have waited over a minute but RealDash didn’t have any notification, any clues or additional instruction?

Great thanks! :stuck_out_tongue:

Allright, never tried this adapter on iOS, as we use and develop everything on Android. I will take a look.

I do know when I used to use my iPhone with obd2, it required the wifi version, not the Bluetooth one. No clue if that is still the case, as that was about 5 years ago and I’ve sense moved to Android for my dash.